RK movie date with “a lot” of segues

There is always something inviting about breakfast. But a week ago, I decided to eat a light one because I figured we might be having a heavy dinner since it was our 45th 24 – yes, we do celebrate monthsaries!

I know there’s a long gap between breakfast and dinner but there’s also something about being twenty-five that makes your metabolism crawl down. But though slowed my metabolism is, I was fast to rush out of the office when the clock hit 6:00 p.m. I was in a hurry because Paolo and I were both determined to catch the 7:15 sched of Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends.

We were supposed to be in the mall within an hour but on the drive, a car almost ran over a kitten so Paolo stepped out and brought the poor thing with us. We were lucky though that we were still able to catch our intended schedule with a free ticket from a priest who approached us. (Thank God.)

I guess it was my husband’s lucky day because I believe that that was his good karma at work.

Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (るろうに剣心 伝説の最期編)
Genre: Action, Manga/Anime Adaptation, East Asian Cinema
Director: Keishi Ohtomo
Year: 2014

Kenshin Himura (Takeru Satoh) with eyes sharp enough to slash off panties.

Rurouni Kenshin: Legend Ends was fun. I think the ff. diversions from the animation are somehow justified by the fun aspect: [Warning: Major spoilers below]

1. The Juppongatana collective awesomeness has suddenly become lame
2. Okina seems unpervy and that he dies in the film

3. There’s no Oni gang action
4. Lame Kamatari exposure = no gorgeous scythe-wielding gay
5. No Futae no Kiwami or the “whoa-some” pulverizing punch
6. Everybody fights Shishio (which is amusing c/o Sano)
7. Sensei Hiko is far more handsome in the movie (ok. not counted.)

Crazy Sōjirō happy about the spoilers. Now I remember someone said he looks like Smokey Manaloto. :))

But honestly, I understand the needed changes because how in the mud could they squish all these in one film? Or maybe the film follows the manga which I haven’t read so I have no idea if this is an accurate speculation. Anyway, my point is the film has made these many diversions without being a disappointment. 🙂

You got it gozaruyo~!

But even if the film is already good in itself, I would have loved though if there were some Megumi retorts once in a while and if there was a credits scene where Kaoru, Misao, and Megumi are on a temple, thanking the gods for everyone’s safe return. I know this is unimportant and extremely personal, but then again, I can vividly remember that certain scene from the anime where Megumi also secretly wishes for Sanosuke to like her! ❤

Megumi with her signature fox ears whenever she cracks her matter-of-fact puns.

Megumi is actually my favorite character in the series, I like how she teases Kenshin and purposely makes Kaoru jealous & annoyed when in fact, she’s secretly smitten by the unintelligent and barbaric Sano.

Speaking of Megumi, I wonder if Aoi Yu had a nose job? I know she doesn’t have the best nose, but there’s something off with it lately especially with the first RK installment. Either way, with surgery or not, I still like her even more than the movie. Don’t get me wrong; I had fun with all the three RK films but it’s just that I didn’t get my expected fill of Juppongatana and Megumi. After the movie, we ended the day with a chargrilled chicken and a good kind of disbelief.

P.S. Forgive my sudden stubborn segues. But do you think there will be a future prequel adaptation where Tomoe will be the highlight? Somehow, I’m convinced there will be. 🙂

 

3 responses to “RK movie date with “a lot” of segues

~ Chime in! ♫

